Click to return to main site

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Jul 21st, 2024, 12:30am

Balance: £16.65
Home Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Login Login
Ford Scorpio Forum« intermittant coolant leak - please help »
   Ford Scorpio Forum
   General
   Problems
(Moderators: admin, Highlander, scorpio_man, Baz, Simmo)
   intermittant coolant leak - please help
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: intermittant coolant leak - please help  (Read 471 times)
sardine

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile

intermittant coolant leak - please help
« on: May 31st, 2006, 11:25pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

Hi  

I have a 94 24v estate with 90k on the clock which has ben running really well for the last couple of years.

I started to notice a slight coolant loss about 6months ago but its only really been about 0.5L per month so I put it down to air con.

On the way back form a 200m trip the coolant light came on but no overheating.  Next day did short trip and when I stopped i heard a hissing noise and noticed coolant pouring from the nearside by the bottom hose/thermostat arrangement.

The car emptied its coolant -mainly in the form of steam from the nearside.

Got it home. refilled it and ran it on axel stands to try and get any airlocks out.  Seemed fine - no leaks.  I ran it for a good half hour and monitored the temp which never went over 71 on the digital readout or halfway on the guage.

All I found was a drip onto the cat from the aircon so I though I'd pop up to ford and check this was ok.

Got there - engine up to temp - No leaks - stopped the car and suddenly quite a lot of coolant (say 1/2 cupful) ran out from the region of bottom hose.

Managed to get them to put it on the ramps there and then as I felt it would boil dry and not get me home.  Mechanic spends 10mins on ramp with engine running and returns it to me as if I was mad saying there's no leak under pressure.