Click to return to main site

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Jul 21st, 2024, 12:23am

Balance: £16.65
Home Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Login Login
Ford Scorpio Forum« Diesel auto wont rev past 2200 rpm »
   Ford Scorpio Forum
   General
   Problems
(Moderators: admin, Highlander, scorpio_man, Baz, Simmo)
   Diesel auto wont rev past 2200 rpm
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: Diesel auto wont rev past 2200 rpm  (Read 505 times)
discodave

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile

Diesel auto wont rev past 2200 rpm
« on: Jun 1st, 2006, 10:40am »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

Just bought a diesel auto unfortuantly it wont rev past 2200 in drive. Is suspect turbo not coming in. any ideas.? Is there any real reason why u are not supposed to tow with a diesel auto? The car has done only 64000 miles and is otherwise immaculate.
IP Logged
mazzy_j

View Profile

Re: Diesel auto wont rev past 2200 rpm
« Reply #1 on: Jun 1st, 2006, 10:54am »

Firstly, hello and welcome to the site  Smiley  

It could be several things that my cause your problem. With the car in P or N will the engine rev freely and above 2200? If not, the cable may have unadjusted itself and so the throttle never gets to 'wide open'. That is if the engine actually has a cable throttle, i heard somewhere that it my be fly by wire  Undecided  You may find that the turbo is fine, but when it gets on boost it could be causing one of the inlet pipes to 'fold in' on itself and so restricting the air flow. Kind of like a kink in a hose pipe. I believe the diesel auto has the 125bhp version of the td which has a computer controlled turbo, maybe something could be up with this and it is opening the wastegate early which will mean no power and not revving flat out.