Click to return to main site

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Jul 25th, 2024, 3:57pm

Balance: £16.65
Home Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Login Login
Ford Scorpio Forum« 2.3 valves sticking »
   Ford Scorpio Forum
   General
   Problems
(Moderators: admin, Highlander, scorpio_man, Baz, Simmo)
   2.3 valves sticking
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: 2.3 valves sticking  (Read 583 times)
chico40

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile

2.3 valves sticking
« on: Jul 10th, 2006, 6:32pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

Hello everyone, this is my first post so go easy on me!
First of all I have to come clean - I don't have a Scorpio, I have a Galaxy. But I do have the 2.3 engine as fitted to the Scorpio. I'll try to make this as brief as possible.
Car was difficult to start and was misfiring. Removed plugs, gap on no.3 was closed right up. Reset gap, still misfiring. Suspected/leads/coil packs but put car to local garage for second opinion. Garage diagnosis was sticking valves. They dosed it with petrol and oil additives and got it running much better and reckoned it would get better as it was used. Car conked out on way home but managed to limp home on low revs. With a bit of persistance got it running again much better but there was still a misfire. Phoned garage next day and they wanted to take head off for decoke but suggested I check plugs again. Checked plugs and gap on no.4 was closed right up! Spoke today to a very nice man at NGK who had never heard of a plug closing up by itself and reckoned only plausable explananation was that something had struck it.

Is sticking valves a recognised problem with the 2.3? (correct oil was used)