Click to return to main site

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Jul 25th, 2024, 3:57pm

Balance: £16.65
Home Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Login Login
Ford Scorpio Forum« Tensioner on Auxilary ( fan ) Belt Stuck »
   Ford Scorpio Forum
   General
   Problems
(Moderators: admin, Highlander, scorpio_man, Baz, Simmo)
   Tensioner on Auxilary ( fan ) Belt Stuck
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: Tensioner on Auxilary ( fan ) Belt Stuck  (Read 527 times)
macw

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile

Tensioner on Auxilary ( fan ) Belt Stuck
« on: Jul 13th, 2006, 12:15pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

The Auxiliary Belt was screaming in the hot weather when turning (power steering) so I decided to change the belt. When I tried to move the tensioner (2.3 16V 1997 150K (motorways) can't recall ever replacing belt) it would not budge and pulling harder just moved the engine. I looked and the end stops of the tensioner and there is 1mm plus before it hits the end stop and 2mm plus of movement on the de-tensioning side (if it would move). I am reluctant to cut the belt (especially under tension and then replace or refurbish the tensioner) has anyone had a similar experience and do they have any recommendations on loosening the tensioner in situ. I have just sprayed some oil on the spring and in the gap between the two halves of the tensioner. Any advice much appreciated.

Mark
IP Logged
Daven

I'm a cheeky Boy! (Simmos fan club)

View Profile WWW

Re: Tensioner on Auxilary ( fan ) Belt Stuck
« Reply #1 on: Jul 13th, 2006, 12:38pm »

You could try undoing the bolt holding it to the block a half turn - if it's too tight it can lock the temsioner

Dave
IP Logged
Jonnycab

Former owner of 2.3 Ultima Facelift saloon

View Profile

« Reply #2 on: Jul 14th, 2006, 1:37am »

You say "pulling harder just moved the engine".