Click to return to main site

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Jul 24th, 2024, 8:22pm

Balance: £16.65
Home Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Login Login
Ford Scorpio Forum« has my head gasket gone »
   Ford Scorpio Forum
   General
   Problems
(Moderators: admin, Highlander, scorpio_man, Baz, Simmo)
   has my head gasket gone
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: has my head gasket gone  (Read 524 times)
arizona

I'm a YaBB newbie! 20 16 v ultima in blue 94

View Profile Email

has my head gasket gone
« on: Jul 30th, 2006, 10:53pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

i had a problem with my expansion tank boiling over. i tried checking for an air lock by runing the engine wiv the heater set to hot and the cap of the expansion tank. it did nothing the level did not rise or fall and it dident spill out or gurgle. i took the car for its mot on friday. when the mechanic brought back my car he informed me that he could not do the mot. he siad when thay were reving up the engine for the emission test the expansion tank was boiling over and was chucking out water faster than he could get it in. he told me that my head gasket had gone and it would be 450 pounds to fix it and he would have to send the head away for skimming and it would take 3 days. i am confused as if my head gasket has gone why is my oil not emulsioned or any sign of blue smoke from the exshuast and the car still seems to drive ok am i been taken for a ride.
IP Logged
howiedintheplace

Based near Evesham

View Profile Email

Re: has my head gasket gone
« Reply #1 on: Jul 30th, 2006, 11:01pm »

Firstly what engine.
Second it does sound like it but have you just drained & refilled the system or did it just start pressurising one day?
If you have antifreeze in the system you can sometimes smell it from the exhaust or there will be bubbles appearing in your coolant tank on tickover or upon reving the engine if the gaskets gone.