Click to return to main site

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Jul 26th, 2024, 6:24am

Balance: £16.65
Home Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Login Login
Ford Scorpio Forum« Non starter »
   Ford Scorpio Forum
   General
   Problems
(Moderators: admin, Highlander, scorpio_man, Baz, Simmo)
   Non starter
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: Non starter  (Read 490 times)
crop

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile

Non starter
« on: Sep 21st, 2006, 6:44pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

Hi i have just joined and would like to give you all something to think about. I have a 1996 ultima 2000 16v which has done 197,000 but still drives quite well. The problem is when i got it i was told it started first time (and it did) but only when cold,and would not even turn over when hot (after 10-15 minutes driving (again correct) but having to wait up to 2 hours to start it again i have tried to fix it myself. I have taken the starter motor off and checked it (its ok) but now i have put it back on i get nothing when i turn the key, its still not the starter motor i have checked that on the car as well. Any ideas "inhibitor switch" where is it..."relay" is a normal 4 pin relay the correct one as the holder in r11 has more 6 or so it was obviously heat related. As for talking to mechanics at ford dealers all i get is "Dunno" "Thats too old for me to remember" etc etc. Thanks in advance.
IP Logged
TiberiuS

Ex. 1996 2.3 Ultima - RIP P789 KHJ

View Profile WWW Email

Re: Non starter
« Reply #1 on: Sep 21st, 2006, 7:37pm »

Hello and welcome aboard.

A couple of things to clarify:

Does the car start at all now you've put the starter motor back or is it the same as before?

Is there any heat damage to the relay/fusebox and do the relays look like the ones on here?.