Click to return to main site

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Jul 19th, 2024, 8:24pm

Balance: £16.65
Home Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Login Login
Ford Scorpio Forum« Cooling Fans not working - help please »
   Ford Scorpio Forum
   General
   Problems
(Moderators: admin, Highlander, scorpio_man, Baz, Simmo)
   Cooling Fans not working - help please
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: Cooling Fans not working - help please  (Read 834 times)
DazRSK

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile Email

Cooling Fans not working - help please
« on: Nov 30th, 2006, 6:08pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

I need to lean on some experience / knowledge / guidance from you guys please. How much do you know about the wiring for the 2 cooling fans on the diesel Scorpio - the one with the 3 way thermal switch ?

What's happened - well, the cooling fans do not operate at all. I have no slow running fans when the climate / aircon is running and I have no fast running fans when the coolant/engine temperature rises above normal. This latter situation was the first to lead me to believe something was wrong the other morning whilst stuck in a jam on the motorway. Yes - I had a new warning light glowing on the dash for the 1st time - I have never seen the red thermometer light before. Which leads me to believe something recent has malfunctioned.

What I have checked -  
Plugging 12V and earth direct from batery into both fans does make them work - not a fan fault.  
Checking all 3 fuses in the battery side box - 37, 39, 44 - proved that none had blown - not a fuse fault.  
Jamming a piece of wire into 2 terminals in the thermal switch multiblock does not make the fans work with ignition on - probably not a thermal switch fault.
I have a permanent live wire at the driver's side fan, but no live at the passenger side - with/without ignition.