Click to return to main site

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Jul 20th, 2024, 9:28am

Balance: £16.65
Home Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Login Login
Ford Scorpio Forum« Stalling, Ignition Light, Speedo »
   Ford Scorpio Forum
   General
   Problems
(Moderators: admin, Highlander, scorpio_man, Baz, Simmo)
   Stalling, Ignition Light, Speedo
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: Stalling, Ignition Light, Speedo  (Read 660 times)
TomP

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile

Stalling, Ignition Light, Speedo
« on: Dec 17th, 2006, 9:36pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

I'm really enjoying my new car: Scorpio - 2.9 12V estate - it's a fantastic car.

Just a couple of things I hope someone can help me with:

1) Car starts fine, but when reversing from my drive, if I give it any throttle the engine speed drops and sometime cuts out. If I do reverse ok, then shift into drive, if I give it too much throttle it cuts out...it's difficult to start again in both situations.

2) The ignition battery light sometime stays glowing although I've had no obvious problems in the 2 months I've had the car. Happened last week on a long journey, stayed on for 100+ miles.

3) Speedo dials sometimes jump to maximum on starting the car.

Wouldn't it be nice if all of these were connectedHuh

I've read through the website, it's brilliant!....have seen a few posts about these things but would be good to get some opinions.

Thanks
IP Logged
Spannerdemon

Email

Re: Stalling, Ignition Light, Speedo
« Reply #1 on: Dec 17th, 2006, 10:28pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify Remove Remove

If the dials are jumping it's a sign that your battery is not up to the job.

Run the self test by holding your mileometer button in with the engine running for about 5-10 seconds. It will beep.
You can then scroll through a number of tests, including a battery voltage check, by repeatedly pressing the button.