Click to return to main site

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Jul 19th, 2024, 5:18am

Balance: £16.65
Home Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Login Login
Ford Scorpio Forum« Non-starter »
   Ford Scorpio Forum
   General
   Problems
(Moderators: admin, Highlander, scorpio_man, Baz, Simmo)
   Non-starter
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1 2 3  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: Non-starter  (Read 2040 times)
tintin

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile Email

Non-starter
« on: Jan 21st, 2007, 5:06pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

The woes continue  Grin

The car had a leaky rad, and the battery was discharging overnight, so i had left it over christmas. It had jump-started fine before christmas.

Went to start it today, noticed about 10 pints of water in the rear passenger footwell. Bailed it out, checked rad, full of water still. Went to jump it, and it turns over fine and tries to start but as soon as it catches it dies again. Interestingly as it turns over, the speedo goes up to about 30mph. The revs get up to 1200rpm as it tries to catch.

Took the battery out, it is a 55Ahr, 495CCA Exide Type ES4 (hmmm....). Has not been a problem since i got the car February 2006 (apart from a few alarm going off incidents lately). Never had any electric problems before. Also, i noticed lots of rust and rubbish under the battery, and the fuse box cover just lifted off. I suspect i have been living on borrowed time. Heres some pics....

http://i97.photobucket.com/albums/l230/tintin74/DSC00133.jpg

http://i97.photobucket.com/albums/l230/tintin74/DSC00132.jpg