Click to return to main site

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Jul 21st, 2024, 11:16pm

Balance: £16.65
Home Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Login Login
Ford Scorpio Forum« 2.3 leaks coolant - cylinder head gasket? »
   Ford Scorpio Forum
   General
   Problems
(Moderators: admin, Highlander, scorpio_man, Baz, Simmo)
   2.3 leaks coolant - cylinder head gasket?
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: 2.3 leaks coolant - cylinder head gasket?  (Read 736 times)
ottopmh

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile

2.3 leaks coolant - cylinder head gasket?
« on: Jan 30th, 2007, 6:06am »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

Good morning everyone,

96 2.3, 129 000 km on the clock.

Started dripping coolant about one week ago and it took three days to find the spot.  Finally I noticed that there's a small trail of coolant on top of the gearbox. It was difficult to find as the gap between engine and scuttle is so tiny.

That's when I got worried. As far as I can see there are three options.

1) Hose to heater matrix
2) Cylinder head gasket
3) Cylinder head cracked

I'm afraid that it's not the first one. The hose is attached to the scuttle and the coolant is not dripping from it. At least that's how it looks like. I have now a tiny mirror with bending handle - similar to the ones that dentists have - and I will try to have a look to the cylinder head / gasket area from behind with the help of the mirror.

At the beginning it did not leak when hot, but now it seems to leak a bit also when hot. When standing in the cold (currently -10...-20 degrees centigrade) it leaks about 0,3 litres a day.  It leaks most when block heater starts to heat the engine starting from ambient temperature.

For me this sounds not like a hose. I'm afraid that it's a crack or gasket. Leaks when cold, leaks more when warms up = builds up pressure and then stops or leaks less when hot -> parts hot and tight due to heat expansion.