Click to return to main site

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Jul 20th, 2024, 1:28pm

Balance: £16.65
Home Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Login Login
Ford Scorpio Forum« Problems!! »
   Ford Scorpio Forum
   General
   Problems
(Moderators: admin, Highlander, scorpio_man, Baz, Simmo)
   Problems!!
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: Problems!!  (Read 580 times)
Bishy

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile

Problems!!
« on: Feb 1st, 2007, 10:02am »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

Hi, I bought a 96 Scorpio Ghia 2.9 12v to tide me over for a while but I'm having a few problems!  

1. It seems to EAT PAS fluid so there's obviously a leak from somewhere - does anyone know an obvious place to start to look? I need to jet wash it as everything is coated in fluid  

2. The rev counter needle jumps all over the place. Roughly seems to follow the engine speed but does literally fly all around the dial -  quite entertaining! Huh

3. Temp gauge sits in the cold segment for most of the time unless I'm in traffic when it goes to level middle (& thankfully never above!) then instantly drops when I move off. I can also smell coolant when its warm so I'm wondering if this is anything to do with a broken heater maxtirx Shocked (praying it's not) but the heater does belt out some nice hot air!  

4. Doesn't really want to start from cold and hold idle. Will start quicker if i press the throttle but if i lift off, it will just die. If I start with the throttle down (not all the way) and keep it there for about 10-15 seconds to help it a bit, its then ok but I know this isn't normal! When accelerating she drives ok, but if in traffic there is a noticable misfire - but this isn't really apparant, if at all - when driving along.  

Any thoughts/help/advice etc would all be very much appreciated.

Thanks
IP Logged
Spannerdemon

Email

Re: Problems!!
« Reply #1 on: Feb 1st, 2007, 10:43am »