Click to return to main site

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Jul 20th, 2024, 12:27am

Balance: £16.65
Home Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Login Login
Ford Scorpio Forum« Bonnet release not working »
   Ford Scorpio Forum
   General
   Problems
(Moderators: admin, Highlander, scorpio_man, Baz, Simmo)
   Bonnet release not working
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: Bonnet release not working  (Read 907 times)
ottopmh

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile

Bonnet release not working
« on: May 9th, 2007, 7:19am »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

Didn't see this coming...

Someone may remember my previous problem - coolant leak coming from the plate in cylinder head. Well, I've not fixed it as the coolant has to be topped up once or twice in a month. Now it would be that time of the month, but.... yep. Not nice.

Tried to open it yesterday and nothing happened. Pulling the release felt normal except the fact that nothing happened.

I dismantled the handle and then pulled the cable. Feels like it would try take hold of something but just can't do it. In the very end of cable's room for manoeuvre I can feel slight threshold or something (hard to describe it in EnglishSmiley) and also a slight click can be heard from the bonnet end of the cable. But nothing happens. I've also tried to twirl and pull, but the result is always exactly the same.

I'm afraid that the cable's end nipple is broken in the bonnet end.

I found one good hint from one similar thread. Someone adviced to remove the cooling fans to gain some room. That was on 24v. Mine is 2,3 - any idea if this method could be used for 2,3 as well?

Any other advices? All help will be highly appreciated!

Or shall I just use an angle grinder and buy a new bonnet.... That would be the LAST resortSmiley
IP Logged
Spannerdemon

Email

Re: Bonnet release not working
« Reply #1 on: May 9th, 2007, 8:44am »