Click to return to main site

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Jul 8th, 2024, 4:16am

Balance: £11.65
Home Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Login Login
Ford Scorpio Forum« rough running when cold »
   Ford Scorpio Forum
   General
   Problems
(Moderators: admin, Highlander, scorpio_man, Baz, Simmo)
   rough running when cold
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: rough running when cold  (Read 509 times)
tintin

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile Email

rough running when cold
« on: May 20th, 2007, 9:13am »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

ok, not a bad one, since i replaced ecu and ccm, car is running great BUT .....

when it first starts up, the engine runs very lumpy and shakes when idling at lights/juntions etc. as the car warms up, it lessens until when warm it idles perfectly at 800rpm.

another symptom, car runs dead centre on the temperature guage, but if it sits in traffic a long time, temp goes up slightly, but only just above the centre. stop the car, then get back in 5 mins later and temp is up to 3/4, and wont come back down (except with 30mins motorway driving). its never overheated.... both fans come on as they should. its done this since the new rad was put in, i dont think there is any coolant in the mix.

scan done, no error codes (although one postcat sensor looks a bit sluggish), MAF is clean, IACV clean, etc

any thoughts? as i said, its not life-threatening, but i am a perfectionist (when my wallet allows me  Grin)
IP Logged

'95 Cosworth Ultima
Spannerdemon

Email

Re: rough running when cold
« Reply #1 on: May 20th, 2007, 4:02pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify Remove Remove

When you replaced the ECU, did you also disconnect the battery for a couple of minutes? If not, it would be a good idea to do so.

You need to do this so that your new/replacement ECU can 'learn' your car's settings. Everything from fuel flow, to idle, to ignition timing etc.