Click to return to main site

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Jul 8th, 2024, 6:25pm

Balance: £11.65
Home Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Login Login
Ford Scorpio Forum« knocking »
   Ford Scorpio Forum
   General
   Problems
(Moderators: admin, Highlander, scorpio_man, Baz, Simmo)
   knocking
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1 2 3  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: knocking  (Read 2419 times)
pagey

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile

knocking
« on: Jun 26th, 2007, 7:53pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

Hi all.
Had the car M.O.T'd a couple of weeks ago (passed!) and practically since driving out of the station, have developed a knocking type sound under the car. Sort of sound you would associate with a loose exhaust mounting. Visited an exhaust centre last Sat and the chap put it up in the air and give the pipes a good shaking. He said that he could find nothing wrong. I've got no idea what it could be. Any thoughts?
Kind regards.
Trev.   Smiley    2.9 12 valve.
IP Logged
mrgraves

View Profile

Re: knocking
« Reply #1 on: Jun 26th, 2007, 8:22pm »

i have this prob too drives me round the bend (well when the car is running thta is  Smiley )
IP Logged

2.0 8v ghia
Spannerdemon

Email

« Reply #2 on: Jun 26th, 2007, 9:48pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify Remove Remove

Front stabiliser bar bushes would be the most obvious, and very easy to fix too.

HERE

See Figure 4. These are the bushes. They wear, and even drop out. You do NOT need to remove the link arms to replace them, as they are a split bush which fits around the bar. Use some washing up liquid to lubricate them.  Always do both sides. Wink
IP Logged
Highlander
Expert

13 Scorpios, XR4x4, Suzuki SJ413 for off road :)

View Profile Email

« Reply #3 on: Jun 26th, 2007, 9:52pm »

something loose, radiator? oil cooler? prop?
IP Logged

on Oct 17th, 2011, 12:35pm, Simmo wrote:
I give up ! Roll Eyes Too much for an old boy!  Huh

Jonnycab