Click to return to main site

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Jul 23rd, 2024, 6:29pm

Balance: £16.65
Home Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Login Login
Ford Scorpio Forum« 2.0l engine rattle help im demented »
   Ford Scorpio Forum
   General
   Problems
(Moderators: admin, Highlander, scorpio_man, Baz, Simmo)
   2.0l engine rattle help im demented
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: 2.0l engine rattle help im demented  (Read 321 times)
zorgman

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile

2.0l engine rattle help im demented
« on: Oct 19th, 2007, 8:50pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

hi all
had my car for 9 months now and since i got it its had a rattle sounding like tappets on tickover, ive changed oil 4 times with different grades ie: 5/40 10/40/15/40 all the norm oil. engine has been flushed out twice, renewed the whole timing chain inc guides etc.
the noise seems to go when i rev car to 2000rpm so im assuming its oil pressure related, whilst doing chain i checked all the hydraulic tappets and none where siezed and all felt the same sort of spongy when pressed. the noise is not there at first cold startup in morn then appears after say 10 secs and is there hot or cold. ive pulled my hair out sorting this noise and the engine is smooth but sort of harsh when driving it in the noise dept. anyone had this problem and cured it as i cant afford a new engine, the clocks show 173,000 miles but theres no smoke or any other nastys.
while engine is on tickover ive had my stethoscope on and poked about but cant seem to hear the load rattle. strange thing is it seems louder under the car than on top.
any help ideas on this please as its too nice a motor for such a small thing to spoil it
laurie
IP Logged
Tons_of_fun

Mmmm...Xena !

View Profile

Re: 2.0l engine rattle help im demented
« Reply #1 on: Oct 20th, 2007, 12:52am »