Click to return to main site

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Jul 23rd, 2024, 6:16am

Balance: £16.65
Home Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Login Login
Ford Scorpio Forum« Misfiring Ultima Cosworth »
   Ford Scorpio Forum
   General
   Problems
(Moderators: admin, Highlander, scorpio_man, Baz, Simmo)
   Misfiring Ultima Cosworth
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1 2  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: Misfiring Ultima Cosworth  (Read 2210 times)
georgeodyphotos

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile Email

Misfiring Ultima Cosworth
« on: Dec 28th, 2007, 12:24am »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

I have a 24 valve Cosworth Estate which has intermittent misfiring problems, sometimes rendering me stranded at the side of the road. My local Ford garage hooked it up to their diagnostic machine and it showed '2x fault codes. PO171 System too lean bank one.  PO174 System too lean bank two'  What does this mean? They don't seem to know.  Can anyone please advise?  Drove from Falmouth to Minehead today and the first 50 miles were horrendous and then from Exeter to Taunton she ran almost perfectly with just the occasional missing. Help!
IP Logged
Snoopy
Administrator

Very old.BAD tempered and missing friends.

View Profile Email

Re: Misfiring Ultima Cosworth
« Reply #1 on: Dec 28th, 2007, 7:41am »

Does THIS help along with the associated pages  

IP Logged

HELP the FORUM.Please DONATE
pappa

VM Diesel 2.5Tdi 90kW

View Profile

« Reply #2 on: Dec 28th, 2007, 9:28am »

Oh boy  Cry

I've been on that road too. Had all the the almost same symptoms, excluding the stranding
of the road (touching wood here). My problems went away when I swapped the engine
to a 2.3 DOHC. But, that brings along a heap of work and other problems Smiley

Ok, what I would do if I was you:

Plug the EGR valve hose, the one that controls the EGR valve. A very good description
of the EGR system is here: http://www.fordscorpio.co.uk/egrmonitor.htm