Click to return to main site

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Jul 23rd, 2024, 12:20am

Balance: £16.65
Home Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Login Login
Ford Scorpio Forum« Autobox problems »
   Ford Scorpio Forum
   General
   Problems
(Moderators: admin, Highlander, scorpio_man, Baz, Simmo)
   Autobox problems
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: Autobox problems  (Read 1613 times)
trol

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile

Autobox problems
« on: Mar 10th, 2008, 9:04pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

The autobox in my 12v Cologne is acting weird.

When cold it doesn't engage, only after putting the stick in P, N and D a couple of times, pushing the gas pedal also helps a lot.

When warm it gets better unless I have to wait for a traffic light. Most of the times it only picks up after I push the gas a little bit.
When driving normally all is ok, but when the pedal hits the metal it goes bananas, staying far too long in second gear, shifts to third and overdive right after third.

Also I get the impression the box is slipping, it uses more gas than my old MK3 Cologne

The shifting itself feels ok, nice and smooth.
The oil is red and there's enough of it.

I'm hoping it's a sensor or solenoid, what do you guys think?
IP Logged
Simmo
Administrator

I'm an OAP !

View Profile

Re: Autobox problems
« Reply #1 on: Mar 10th, 2008, 10:06pm »

Try reading through the Automatic gearbox section HERE.
IP Logged

Now I'm an OAP
Tompion
Administrator

1997 2.3 Ultima estate.

View Profile

« Reply #2 on: Mar 10th, 2008, 10:18pm »

One thing that springs to mind as you say the oil is clean. If it’s had an oil & filter change, the original filter bolt needs to be shorter for the new filter otherwise it won’t seal properly.
IP Logged

ABS multiplug wheel sensor pins MK IV or MK 20
Snoopy
Administrator

Very old.BAD tempered and missing friends.

View Profile Email