Click to return to main site

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Jul 23rd, 2024, 12:29am

Balance: £16.65
Home Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Login Login
Ford Scorpio Forum« sunroof prob and grinding brakes??? »
   Ford Scorpio Forum
   General
   Problems
(Moderators: admin, Highlander, scorpio_man, Baz, Simmo)
   sunroof prob and grinding brakes???
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1 2  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: sunroof prob and grinding brakes???  (Read 1658 times)
tezzabuckle

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile

sunroof prob and grinding brakes???
« on: Mar 30th, 2008, 8:05pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

Hi,
I'm brand new to this forum and I have purchased a P reg scorpio 2.3 ghia saloon for 500 quid. Obviously i dont mind the odd bits that need doing, but.....
the sunroof dosen't open tilt or slide. It begins to move slightly and then it seems to stop and you can hear the motor trying to move it, but just goes 'brrrrrrrr'. The brakes make similar noises but I can feel the grind  under the pedal. After browsing I can only find warped discs on the site, but dosen't feel like a warped feeling. More like a knocking or something catching. I fear if i press too hard something will snap. Braking at speed is ok, it happens more at slow turning speed.  
The clutch has a slight growling feel to it too don't know if it's connected in any way. Its like i can feel the cogs turning under the clutch and brake.  
Doeas that make any sense? I hope it does to someone.
Thanks
Tezza Huh
IP Logged
Geoff_W

98 Ulti2.5tdi Auto

View Profile

Re: sunroof prob and grinding brakes???
« Reply #1 on: Mar 30th, 2008, 8:49pm »

Welcome Tezz

Sounds like the nylon socket in the sunroof motor is in the process of stripping.

However if you have some movement, it may be worth you trying to lube the sunroof mechanism have a look at this link  http://www.fordscorpio.co.uk/sunroof.htm