Click to return to main site

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Jul 23rd, 2024, 12:12am

Balance: £16.65
Home Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Login Login
Ford Scorpio Forum« strange auto box stuff »
   Ford Scorpio Forum
   General
   Problems
(Moderators: admin, Highlander, scorpio_man, Baz, Simmo)
   strange auto box stuff
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: strange auto box stuff  (Read 555 times)
stevie

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile

strange auto box stuff
« on: Apr 4th, 2008, 1:04am »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

hi  every one  
my auto box on 2.3 scorpio is a strange beast i.v had the fluid and filter changed and all seemed well for a short time , just today its been slipping into 2nd after pulling up to lights then going into 1st then everything is ok for a few days then it goes back to missbehaving it seems that once everything heats up the gremlins get in , i feel as if something is not locking into place or that solenoids may be sticking , 1st 2nd is good then it hesitates to go into 3rd the revs rise slightly then it goes into 3rd and on to 4th then overdrive with no problem i cleaned the maf seemed ok but could be shot dont know  i,v had the o/d off light blinking on but then going off after i restart the engine if th box was dying surely the o/d off light would stay lit and not go out  thanks again guys
IP Logged
Simmo
Administrator

I'm an OAP !

View Profile

Re: strange auto box stuff
« Reply #1 on: Apr 4th, 2008, 7:37am »

Steve. I know nothing about auto boxes BUT IIRC the fluid is very sensitive to temperature and if there isn't enough fluid in the system clearly it could overheat and thus cause problems. Have you gone through the correct procedure for checking the level. Described elesewhere on the site?. Just a thought if the fluid has been recently changed. There have been a number of recent posts about this type of problem.
IP Logged

Now I'm an OAP