Click to return to main site

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Jul 22nd, 2024, 8:29pm

Balance: £16.65
Home Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Login Login
Ford Scorpio Forum« steering rack removal »
   Ford Scorpio Forum
   General
   Problems
(Moderators: admin, Highlander, scorpio_man, Baz, Simmo)
   steering rack removal
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: steering rack removal  (Read 342 times)
jabbacar

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile

steering rack removal
« on: May 9th, 2008, 8:03pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

I have within the past few days removed the steering rack on a 96 2 ltr scorpio, "ok looks pretty straightforward me thinks"
Split the t/r/ends,undo mounting bolts and drag link,disconnect fluid pipes,right pull rack through to n/side wheel,  No way!!
Try as I might,one way then the other, I just couldnt get enough clearance to free the rack,
Forward movement was obstructed by a 3 inch wide bracket with a heavy steel plate on top,
What usefull purpose does this lump of crap serve apart for causing this obvious frustration?
I pondered this puzzle for some time,Sump protection?support for splash cover?In the end I killed it with a 9" angle grinder and the rack fell to the floor.
Please feel free to quote  standard instructions(no doubt involving the strip down of the front suspension)
for rack removal
Your thoughts appreciated,  Kev.
IP Logged
Daven

I'm a cheeky Boy! (Simmos fan club)

View Profile WWW

Re: steering rack removal
« Reply #1 on: May 9th, 2008, 8:44pm »

It will come out without a grinder Wink I found that lifting the engine up a tag helped! Twist as you pull  it out!

Dave
IP Logged
Stixy

I should know better

View Profile

« Reply #2 on: May 9th, 2008, 9:27pm »

I have just changed mine  i removed the front anti roll bar and just wiggled it out the front
IP Logged
Simmo
Administrator

I'm an OAP !

View Profile