Click to return to main site

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Jul 21st, 2024, 1:14pm

Balance: £16.65
Home Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Login Login
Ford Scorpio Forum« No Ignition Lights - Wont Start -Plenty Batt Power »
   Ford Scorpio Forum
   General
   Problems
(Moderators: admin, Highlander, scorpio_man, Baz, Simmo)
   No Ignition Lights - Wont Start -Plenty Batt Power
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1 2  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: No Ignition Lights - Wont Start -Plenty Batt Power  (Read 1719 times)
curly

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile

No Ignition Lights - Wont Start -Plenty Batt Power
« on: May 18th, 2008, 7:36pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

Hi Guys
 Scorpio 2.5 TD  jumped in this morning turned the key no dash lights no starter except clicking relay in glovebox.

Horn + lights works even fob locks/unlocks doors etc

When pressing release button on auto shift lever - buzzer sounds !!

Have swapped over R11 relay no joy

Any ideas please as i'm goosed if it wont go !! Embarassed Cry
IP Logged
TiberiuS

Ex. 1996 2.3 Ultima - RIP P789 KHJ

View Profile WWW Email

Re: No Ignition Lights - Wont Start -Plenty Batt P
« Reply #1 on: May 18th, 2008, 9:09pm »

Hi.

Firstly, are you sure the battery is ok? If it was failing it might still have good voltage at low current (central locking etc) but get a huge voltage drop when it's asked for the high current to start the engine.

Do you have a voltmeter you could put accross the battery terminals when you try to start? There's also a way to get the battery voltage reading on the dash that one of the guys should be able to tell you about but I trust a proper voltmeter more.

Other than that you need to check the battery terminals are secure, there's also some common issues with the fusebox multiplugs becoming loose and cutting some circuits.

Good luck.

Regards, Bruce.
IP Logged