Click to return to main site

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Jul 20th, 2024, 3:29am

Balance: £16.65
Home Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Login Login
Ford Scorpio Forum« Handling improvements..? »
   Ford Scorpio Forum
   General
   Problems
(Moderators: admin, Highlander, scorpio_man, Baz, Simmo)
   Handling improvements..?
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: Handling improvements..?  (Read 1217 times)
10mpg

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile

Handling improvements..?
« on: Aug 15th, 2008, 12:43am »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

Ok I'm loving the general waftyness and comfort of my 2.3 Scorp Ghia X estate  but it's handling is pretty shocking at times, the steering is way too light the front end is ridiculously soft and at high speed (over 85ish) it feels very unsettled and to be honest my 4.6 Range Rover with the suspension set on high feels more able to take a high speed manouver than  this scorp..

Does anyone know why this is or are they all like this?

It has no play that i can find anywhere in the front or rear suspension or wheel bearings, the tyres are all new, albeit a cheapo asian brand that the last owner fitted and at lower speeds round town it feels fine..

I was thinking a speed sensitive power steering system of a later model might help as would stiffer suspension and damping perhaps from a V6 or a cossie? can any of this be done?

what do people think?

Any help at all would be great, as if not we'll probably sell it and get something that handles high speed better like an Volvo which would be a shame as we both really like the car but do like to press on a bit and at anything over 90 (on a private road occifer) this one feels downright dangerous!
IP Logged
martin_rowe

I love YaBB 1G - SP1!

View Profile

Re: Handling improvements..?
« Reply #1 on: Aug 15th, 2008, 8:36am »