Click to return to main site

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Jul 22nd, 2024, 8:40am

Balance: £16.65
Home Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Login Login
Ford Scorpio Forum« sluggish 2.9 12v »
   Ford Scorpio Forum
   General
   Problems
(Moderators: admin, Highlander, scorpio_man, Baz, Simmo)
   sluggish 2.9 12v
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: sluggish 2.9 12v  (Read 1061 times)
boycey

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile

sluggish 2.9 12v
« on: Aug 16th, 2008, 10:40am »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

can anyone help,i have a 2.9 12v auto on a 96 plate and it does'nt seem to perform as i would expect it to,it feels as if it holding back and not pulling as it should,i have cheked the obvious things such as plugs,leads,cap,and rotor arm,also when under load there seems to be what i would describe as a lot of induction roar and when using full throttle it changes gear at 5100 rpm,should it rev higher or is this normal,i have also noticed a sort of whistling noise from around the fuel pipe that goes into a small round thing above the nearside rocker cover,could it be a fuel starvation issue.p.s i am new here and must say what an excellent site this is,thanks.
IP Logged
Tompion
Administrator

1997 2.3 Ultima estate.

View Profile

Re: sluggish 2.9 12v
« Reply #1 on: Aug 16th, 2008, 1:16pm »

With regard the whistling noise, scroll down to Fuel Rail V6 Cologne 12v on this page:

http://www.fordscorpio.co.uk/fuelrail.htm

Do you mean item 7.
Check the vacuum hose for leaks (it pushes on, but not shown in this diagram).

Although I doubt that alone is the cause of your problems.

IP Logged

ABS multiplug wheel sensor pins MK IV or MK 20
boycey

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile

« Reply #2 on: Aug 16th, 2008, 2:14pm »