Click to return to main site

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Jul 19th, 2024, 8:30am

Balance: £16.65
Home Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Login Login
Ford Scorpio Forum« Brake Cylinder. Including Photos. »
   Ford Scorpio Forum
   General
   Problems
(Moderators: admin, Highlander, scorpio_man, Baz, Simmo)
   Brake Cylinder. Including Photos.
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1 2  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: Brake Cylinder. Including Photos.  (Read 2570 times)
Kenboy

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile

Brake Cylinder. Including Photos.
« on: Oct 22nd, 2008, 4:09pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

Hi I have fitted new brake discs and pads to the front and rear, but encountered a problem when fitting n/s read  (Solid Discs) after replacing with new pads there was no way it was going to slide on to the disc I needed at least another 4mm I attempted to wind back the brake cylinder again but without success to cut a long story short I was forced to put the old brake pads back on and even fitting these was a mare now I know I am knocking 70 and perhaps should not be tackling these jobs but for the life of me I cannot understand as I am convinced the cylinder was not back far enough and yet I used the same winding back tool for the other three with no problem before I lose it all together can anyone shed some light on this problem btw took the car for a brake test and all seems well but I am unhappy with old disc pads being on. The disc I fitted is definately the right one and so are the brake pads, god I am rambling on here, suggestions please.

Kenboy
IP Logged
Jonnycab

Former owner of 2.3 Ultima Facelift saloon

View Profile

Re: Brake Cylinder?
« Reply #1 on: Oct 22nd, 2008, 4:20pm »

If the piston can't be fully pushed back then it sounds like it may be seized  Sad

Have you tried giving a bit more pressure when winding it back, this might free it if it's stuck  Smiley
IP Logged
cossie_al

Ex 24v