Click to return to main site

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Jul 7th, 2024, 1:16am

Balance: £6.65
Home Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Login Login
Ford Scorpio Forum« Supply to the heater matrix. »
   Ford Scorpio Forum
   General
   Problems
(Moderators: admin, Highlander, scorpio_man, Baz, Simmo)
   Supply to the heater matrix.
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: Supply to the heater matrix.  (Read 683 times)
Jads

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile

Supply to the heater matrix.
« on: Jan 26th, 2009, 7:57pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

Hello fellow Scorpio owners, and what a fantastic site this is !  I’ve recently bought a ’98 2.3 Ultima saloon and I’m glad to say I really enjoy it. However, I do have to fix the leaking right-angle alloy union which feeds the heater and is screwed into the rear face of the water pump housing on the block. At present I’m running with the heater by-passed and a blanking plug in the water pump housing. Before I fit the new union, can anyone advise whether the following will work ? If you look at the water pump housing, in addition to the rear hole, there is a blanked off hole (torx socket) on the top face of the housing into which the replacement union will also fit. If I fit the new union in this top position rather than the original rear position, will it affect the heater efficiency ?  It may be that the circulation around the pump could influence the flow to the heater hose and therefore dictate the position of the union ?  The reason I ask is that the new union can’t be screwed into the original rear hole without removing the nearside engine mount for clearance, but it will screw straight into the top hole, making the job a lot easier !     Regards.Cheesy
IP Logged
Tompion
Administrator

1997 2.3 Ultima estate.

View Profile

Re: Supply to the heater matrix.
« Reply #1 on: Jan 26th, 2009, 10:44pm »

Hi and welcome.