Click to return to main site

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Jul 7th, 2024, 11:27pm

Balance: £11.65
Home Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Login Login
Ford Scorpio Forum« Help!! failed MOT Emissions DTC P1406 »
   Ford Scorpio Forum
   General
   Problems
(Moderators: admin, Highlander, scorpio_man, Baz, Simmo)
   Help!! failed MOT Emissions DTC P1406
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: Help!! failed MOT Emissions DTC P1406  (Read 982 times)
upsilon56

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile

Help!! failed MOT Emissions DTC P1406
« on: Feb 1st, 2009, 7:08pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

Hi Guys,

I have a 1996 24v Scorpio Cosworth

The problem is it is failing the MOT test on CO2 emissions which are being measured at:-

fast idle 2750-3150rpm CO2=.679% to .391% with the limit being .300% for a pass.

HC: = 48ppm

Lambda: = 0.950 - 1.090

Also I have the fault code (DTC) P1406 on the OBD2 system which indicates the EGR system DPFE downstream hose is blocked or plugged any suggestions would be very much appreciated.

For your information I have checked the hoses connected to the DPFE sensor from the EGR tube and they seem to be airtight, I have not removed the EGR tube itself or the EGR valve as it so far OBD2 just indicates a blockage in the DPFE downstream hose which there is not, also idling is a little rough sometimes and the engine hunts at about 37mph. Question, what is causing this problem.

Any help would be very much appreciated as I can't find anyone locally as yet (Gloucestershire) that knows enough about this car to diagnose the problem properly and I don't want the usual "well, we've changed this and this and that, BUT!!! here is a big bill and sorry we can't fix it syndrome.

At the same time I do need the car sorted for MOT so if anyone knows an expert in my area please let me know.

thanks in advance of any help.

upsilon56

IP Logged
scorpio_man
Administrator