Click to return to main site

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Jul 7th, 2024, 5:25am

Balance: £6.65
Home Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Login Login
Ford Scorpio Forum« Car won't start »
   Ford Scorpio Forum
   General
   Problems
(Moderators: admin, Highlander, scorpio_man, Baz, Simmo)
   Car won't start
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: Car won't start  (Read 854 times)
sierra20

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile

Car won't start
« on: Feb 9th, 2009, 6:30pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

I would really appreciate your help, my 12v tappets were really nosiey so i decided to have a look to see if someone had had a go at adjusting the clearences without realising that the car had hydraulic tappets, and it appeard that they had because the gaps measure correct to the pre cat versions of the engine, so i used the procedure on this link http://www.granada-and-scorpio-online.com/forums/showthread.php?s=&t hreadid=16715&highlight=lifters.  

i you can t view the link its this:
Valves overlapping --------------------Valves to adjust

No 5 cylinder ---------------------------No 1 cyl (in & ex)
No 3 cylinder ---------------------------No 4 cyl (in & ex)
No 6 cylinder ---------------------------No 2 cyl (in & ex)
No 1 cylinder ---------------------------No 5 cyl (in & ex)
No 4 cylinder ---------------------------No 3 cyl (in & ex)
No 2 cylinder ---------------------------No 6 cyl (in & ex)

With the engine in the correct position for the pair of valves to be adjusted,back off the adjusting screw until a large gap is obtained.Now screw it back in until the gap is just "0" without depressing the tappet.Finally turn the screw in one and a half turns,this will compress the tappet by about 2mm into its working position.Repeat the process,rotating the engine to its new position each time to get the next pair of valves "rocking".