Click to return to main site

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Jul 6th, 2024, 7:25pm

Balance: £6.65
Home Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Login Login
Ford Scorpio Forum« difficult cold starting scorpio »
   Ford Scorpio Forum
   General
   Problems
(Moderators: admin, Highlander, scorpio_man, Baz, Simmo)
   difficult cold starting scorpio
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1 2  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: difficult cold starting scorpio  (Read 3028 times)
MARK_HARLOCK

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile

difficult cold starting scorpio
« on: Mar 5th, 2009, 12:54pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

Hi Everyone

Im a new member, My name is Mark. I am most impressed with the Scorpio site and have found it to be very helpful. I will be donating a sum shortly

I have recently aquired a Scorpio estate 2.3,Ultima 1998 S reg. Its a great looking car. I bought it for the huge load area it has.

The scorpio has very recently had a new headgasket, brand new from Ford inlet manifold, new thermostat. New crank sensor, new battery.

The scorpio basically runs very well and everything seems to work well, but I do find it difficult to start when its cold, you have to keep pumping the throttle, it will then fire up after several turns of the engine. No fault codes found when scanned. Im thinking a fuel problem. Poss fuel pressure reg?? I have a used one to try, due to a new one not being readily available locally.  Has anyone got any Ideas??

Any thoughts/advice would be very much appriecited.
IP Logged
scorpio_man
Administrator

Ford Kuga awd

View Profile Email

Re: difficult cold starting scorpio
« Reply #1 on: Mar 5th, 2009, 1:08pm »

hi there

have you done the basic checks? sparkplug gaps/condition, air/vac leaks, etc.

hth
IP Logged
Jonnycab

Former owner of 2.3 Ultima Facelift saloon

View Profile

« Reply #2 on: Mar 5th, 2009, 2:04pm »