Click to return to main site

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Jul 8th, 2024, 1:27am

Balance: £11.65
Home Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Login Login
Ford Scorpio Forum« battery drain? »
   Ford Scorpio Forum
   General
   Problems
(Moderators: admin, Highlander, scorpio_man, Baz, Simmo)
   battery drain?
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: battery drain?  (Read 896 times)
gost

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile Email

battery drain?
« on: Mar 8th, 2009, 10:25am »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

Morning gents, bought my new 2.3 yesterday, when i arrived to get it gent said he had to jump start it and left it running, drove 130 mls home drove like a dream, parked up last night, this morning put key in ign, NOTHING  not even dash coming on, did notice that when taking key out radio stayed on, could that be part of prob? \so is a new battery first port of call? if so specs please, Will i get one in Halfords or kwick fit, any ideas as its a sunday, thanks bruce
IP Logged

2.3 ultima
Simmo
Administrator

I'm an OAP !

View Profile

Re: battery drain?
« Reply #1 on: Mar 8th, 2009, 11:34am »

Bruce. Sorry to hear that. Have a read of THIS page. The most important thing is the capacity of the battery. The CCA,cold cranking amps,is vital as is explained in the link. Personally I, and I believe others, have used Varta batteries which have proved to be great. As for the 'drain' it could of course be that there is a fault such as a glovebox light running all the time. The 'battery saver' relay is designed to avoid such problems but it is a case of elimination I'm afraid. Keep us informed mate. Wink Mike.
IP Logged

Now I'm an OAP
gost

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile Email

« Reply #2 on: Mar 8th, 2009, 1:18pm »

Thanks mike, so maybe battery saver relay is faulty? dont u think it is strange that with key out of ignition radio display is still showing, mind u no sound
IP Logged

2.3 ultima