Click to return to main site

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Jul 21st, 2024, 12:33am

Balance: £16.65
Home Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Login Login
Ford Scorpio Forum« Engine starts then dies »
   Ford Scorpio Forum
   General
   Problems
(Moderators: admin, Highlander, scorpio_man, Baz, Simmo)
   Engine starts then dies
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1 2 3  4 Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: Engine starts then dies  (Read 6150 times)
Pjot

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile

Engine starts then dies
« on: Mar 9th, 2009, 1:15am »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

Hello,I have read this forum for a few days for clues on how the engine works on my car. A friend of mine gave me his Scorpio 95mod 2,0L 16valves because the engine died when it feel like it. My friend has to call for help to change tires, so this car was not for him anymore.

Symptoms: Starts right away when left overnight. First minute I can hardly see any exhaust coming out the rear pipe and engine running smoothly. Then the smoke is VERY visible but still the engine is running smoothly till it completly shut down. Sometimes it hesitates for a few seconds before it shut down. The ignition plugs is soted, (parden my english, I`m from Norway), which as I remember is caused by to rich air/fuel mixture.

There are good sparks at all times.

Measured the fuel pressure and it was constant at 3 bar as long as the engine was running. It reached 3,2bar the moment it died, and also 3,2 before I started the engine. So I`m sure the FPR works fine, as well as fuel pump relay and fuel cut of switch.

This draw my attention to the injectors, I listen to the engine and I can hear a weak clicking from the injectors. Kind of the same sound as a relay. Thinking this is the sound of injectors opening and closing. After engine dies this sound dissapears, when cranking the engine I sometimes hear a click and the engine starts for a split second.