Click to return to main site

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Jul 5th, 2024, 6:17am

Balance: £6.65
Home Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Login Login
Ford Scorpio Forum« Squealing »
   Ford Scorpio Forum
   General
   Problems
(Moderators: admin, Highlander, scorpio_man, Baz, Simmo)
   Squealing
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1 2  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: Squealing  (Read 2190 times)
TomP

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile

Squealing
« on: Mar 19th, 2009, 11:29pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

12V 2.9 Estate

Last couple of weeks started getting an intermitent squealing. Think it's from the back but not sure. Tends to only do it after the car has been going for a while (10-20 miles) then it becomes more apparent. If cruising downhill (no accelerator) say about 50mph and it starts squealing, if I touch the brakes lihtly the noise stops. Release the brakes and the noise starts again. Other than that the noise comes and goes

Wheel beraing or brakes related? I did have the rear brakes changed about 3 months (2000 miles) ago, perhaps I should take the car back?.
IP Logged
Jonnycab

Former owner of 2.3 Ultima Facelift saloon

View Profile

Re: Squealing
« Reply #1 on: Mar 20th, 2009, 12:41am »

Sounds like a wheel bearing..........Squealing usually means the bearing has dried out & is getting red hot......& may even be grinding into the hub.  

If it's squealing really bad, then you are pretty close to total bearing seizure/wheel lockup, so I'd get it checked out ASAP  Smiley
IP Logged
Simmo
Administrator

I'm an OAP !

View Profile

« Reply #2 on: Mar 20th, 2009, 7:15am »

Agree. If it is the wheel bearing it needs sorting ASAP.
IP Logged

Now I'm an OAP
Snoopy
Administrator

Very old.BAD tempered and missing friends.

View Profile Email

« Reply #3 on: Mar 20th, 2009, 7:29am »