Click to return to main site

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Jul 21st, 2024, 6:18pm

Balance: £16.65
Home Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Login Login
Ford Scorpio Forum« cooling  probs »
   Ford Scorpio Forum
   General
   Problems
(Moderators: admin, Highlander, scorpio_man, Baz, Simmo)
   cooling  probs
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: cooling  probs  (Read 553 times)
familyguy

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile

cooling  probs
« on: May 6th, 2009, 8:44am »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

Hi guys  

yesterday the low coolant level light came on, checked and it was low so i topped it up, let the car cool down and turned the ignition on the light was still there,

went to pick the children up from school(2.5 miles) and the light was still on,and the level was low undid the top of the expansion bottle and it appeared to have drawn a vacuum as the water returned to the expansion bottle with a loud hiss, the level was now correct.

Drove home and the same thing, the car is a cossie it has had a new water pump and cooling rad , i checked for leaks  and can see non.

last week when it was cold there was water vapour from the exhaust for the first 30secs of driving which i put down to condensation in the exhaust pipe.

I can't see why the car would be drawing a vacuum unless there is a blockage somewhere
 the gauge was bouncing about on sunday on a long run to liverpool it would drop to cold but never went above half.

could i have an air lock in the system?

many thanks for any help  

gareth
IP Logged

Ford Falcon f6 typhoon,2.2 westie,mx6 & a cossie
gozz

Been around awhile

View Profile Email

Re: cooling  probs
« Reply #1 on: May 6th, 2009, 9:09am »