Click to return to main site

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Jul 5th, 2024, 6:25am

Balance: £6.65
Home Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Login Login
Ford Scorpio Forum« 2.5 Tdi - No power, but smoke *EDIT* »
   Ford Scorpio Forum
   General
   Problems
(Moderators: admin, Highlander, scorpio_man, Baz, Simmo)
   2.5 Tdi - No power, but smoke *EDIT*
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: 2.5 Tdi - No power, but smoke *EDIT*  (Read 942 times)
Vandelen

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile

2.5 Tdi - No power, but smoke *EDIT*
« on: May 10th, 2009, 9:21pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

Hey Scorpio lovers,

I've got an 1996 Scorpio Estate with the 'new' 2.5 Tdi VM engine. I think it's lacking a lot of power, especially noticable when climbing a hill or bridge. I'm going to try to describe the problem as detailed as possible, so bear with me...

My car used to produce lots of smoke when reaching +/- 2000 revs, so when the Turbo should kick in. I traced that problem, being a leaking airtube to the Turbo inlet. I repaired it with tape, untill I can order a new tube tomorrow. Now it's producing white/greyish smoke, but not every single time. The car is now a bit faster, gains revs quicker beyond 2000 revs, but still I think it should be faster. I can't keep up with the 1996 Volkswagen Passat of my parents, which only has a 1.9 Tdi. So my 2.5 should be a bit quicker than this, no? (even if it isn't a 'true' Tdi, but still)

I always blamed the MAF, because on the outside both screws were broken of. That doesn't mean it's inner components should be failing, but at least it's a bad sign. According to my parts dealer, a new MAF costs me € 325 + VAT, so that kept me from replacing it right away.

Is there any way I can test my MAF with a multimeter? Which wires should I connect and what values should I mesure?
Are there any other possibilities I should check?

Thank you very much  Cheesy!