Click to return to main site

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Jul 8th, 2024, 5:21am

Balance: £11.65
Home Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Login Login
Ford Scorpio Forum« Losing coolant!!! »
   Ford Scorpio Forum
   General
   Problems
(Moderators: admin, Highlander, scorpio_man, Baz, Simmo)
   Losing coolant!!!
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: Losing coolant!!!  (Read 1296 times)
DagenhamGeoff

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile

Losing coolant!!!
« on: Aug 6th, 2009, 12:09pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

Hi folks, lonbg time since I`ve had to use the help you guys give. Now for the problem, my brother in law has a 2.9 12v, recently he said his coolant (?) light came on, found he had no coolant in expansion tank.
Today he had trouble starting the car but eventually got it started and parked it outside my house so that I could have a look whilst he goes to work.
First thing i did was add coolant, but as soon as I was pouring it in it was dfisappaering...the tank would not fill, there are no leaks ANYWHERE, the temp gauge stays at normal operating temperature so now I`m totally stumped. I`ve looked on here for answers but to be honest not sure where to start looking. I have noticed the expansion tank gets EXTREMELY hot as does the hose leading to the lump but the bigger hose underneath stays cool and flexible.

Any help would be gratefully appreciated.

Geoff
IP Logged
Highlander
Expert

13 Scorpios, XR4x4, Suzuki SJ413 for off road :)

View Profile Email

Re: Losing coolant!!!
« Reply #1 on: Aug 6th, 2009, 12:13pm »

Keep filling it, it'll come out somewhere Smiley

Either into the sump or down the exhaust would be my first guesses, possibly into the gearbox oil?  

the autobox cooler pipes run through the radiator, could be a leak in there somewhere?

check the engine and gearbox oil and the exhaust when it starts up