Click to return to main site

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Jul 7th, 2024, 9:27pm

Balance: £11.65
Home Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Login Login
Ford Scorpio Forum« Auto Box Problem & Other Minor Issues »
   Ford Scorpio Forum
   General
   Problems
(Moderators: admin, Highlander, scorpio_man, Baz, Simmo)
   Auto Box Problem & Other Minor Issues
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: Auto Box Problem & Other Minor Issues  (Read 883 times)
n880eua

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile

Auto Box Problem & Other Minor Issues
« on: Nov 18th, 2009, 6:15pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

I am the proud owner of a 1996 2.9 V6 12V Ultima Saloon. I bought it for a song to replace my old and jaded 800.

However I have one very serious issue with it. For some reason the gearbox seems slow. I know the car is heavy but my 820 was an auto and that was a rocket compeared to my Scorpio.  

It goes up and down the gearbox fine but when you push the pedal to the floor you can feel the kickdown notch but the gearbox does not change down and pick up. If anything it changes down one gear and picks up slightly. It does this hot or cold.

Now I have looked through the hand book and it says about a green relay in the glovebox fusebox to do with speed.  But there is only a yellow one and then a blank and then a blue one. But there is a socket there with 5 pins which is empty.  

The gearbox is fine in forward and reverse and is silient and smooth excpet for the lack of kick down.

Any help would be great. Other issues I have with the car have been sorted by a great ebay seller who deals with Scorpio parts but the gearbox fault is a mystery to me.
IP Logged
tootman318

Leicester City Forever

View Profile Email

Re: Auto Box Problem & Other Minor Issues
« Reply #1 on: Nov 18th, 2009, 6:23pm »

could be kickdown relay fault. not sure of colour  of relay
IP Logged

Leicester City FC Forever!!!!!
Dave2302