Click to return to main site

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Jul 8th, 2024, 11:22pm

Balance: £11.65
Home Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Login Login
Ford Scorpio Forum« Cosworth Heater Problems »
   Ford Scorpio Forum
   General
   Problems
(Moderators: admin, Highlander, scorpio_man, Baz, Simmo)
   Cosworth Heater Problems
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: Cosworth Heater Problems  (Read 1565 times)
jenko_15

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile

Cosworth Heater Problems
« on: Dec 14th, 2009, 3:48pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

Hi All

I have a problem with the heater not getting hot (luke warm at best). I've read some of the topics on here and have done the following:

Reset the climate control (3 times)
Changed the sensor in the header tank as the light was on.

The inlet pipe to the matrix is warm but the outlet is cold - blocked matrix maybe??
It is using about 1 Lt of water a week (about 150 miles), but I cannot see any leaks anywhere. No water present in the oil and no drop in performance, so I'm ruling out head gaskets. The system has been drained and topped up with antifreeze.

A mechanic has suggested I change the thermostat, but at £150.00 I'd like to be sure this will make a difference first. Any thoughts / pointers will be much appreciated.

Cheers
IP Logged
emptypockets

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile

Re: Cosworth Heater Problems
« Reply #1 on: Dec 15th, 2009, 5:37pm »

Hi.

I have suggested the following for this problem.

The heater matrix is almost certainly being blocked by some sort of residue.  I had this problem continually on my old 2.9 Granada Scorpio and was fed up flushing out the matrix hoses forwards then back only for the heat to diminish over the next few days.