Click to return to main site

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Jul 21st, 2024, 12:32am

Balance: £16.65
Home Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Login Login
Ford Scorpio Forum« Engine Idle problems »
   Ford Scorpio Forum
   General
   Problems
(Moderators: admin, Highlander, scorpio_man, Baz, Simmo)
   Engine Idle problems
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: Engine Idle problems  (Read 913 times)
st.eve

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile Email

Engine Idle problems
« on: Feb 9th, 2010, 11:46pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

This post is about an engine idle problem – Scorpio Ultima 2.9 12 valve (manufactured Nov ’95). Sorry folks but it’s a bit of a long winded story.

Further to a previous post regarding electrical gremlins, ignition light, oil light and cooling fan coming on when the ignition was switched off, the problem was located to a length of wiring loom on the near side in the engine bay running from the bulkhead towards the front of the car below the coil.

The garage said they could repair the section of loom, which they did. I collected the car and everything seemed fine till I got just a few miles down the road when the starter motor kicked in whilst driving with all the dashboard lights going on and off and smoke coming from under the bonnet. I switched off the ignition but nothing stopped.

I acted fast, whipped off the battery cover and set about disconnecting the battery. By now the terminals were pretty d**n hot and a couple of burnt finger tips later got the negative terminal disconnected and the wiring gradually stopped burning.

The garage had left part of the loom unclipped which was resting again the exhaust, melted through and shorted out.

Managed to separate the wires, tie them back and return to the garage. They repaired the damaged cables and secured them.