Click to return to main site

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Jul 20th, 2024, 10:19pm

Balance: £16.65
Home Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Login Login
Ford Scorpio Forum« Pressure build up in fuel tank »
   Ford Scorpio Forum
   General
   Problems
(Moderators: admin, Highlander, scorpio_man, Baz, Simmo)
   Pressure build up in fuel tank
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: Pressure build up in fuel tank  (Read 824 times)
Gilly

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile

Pressure build up in fuel tank
« on: Mar 18th, 2010, 12:02pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

Hi
My 98 Scorpio 24v has got a problem with pressure building up in the fuel tank.

After driving for just a few miles the engine dies but starts up again first turn of the key. If i open the filler cap slightly, pressure is released from the tank for up to 20 seconds or so and if I undo the cap completely it gets pushed gently into my hand. There is also a strong smell of petrol as the pressure is released.

If I leave the cap loosely fitted the car drives fine but there is a smell of petrol as i'm driving.

I have recently had a new tank fitted at my local garage because the old one had corroded around the filler neck but I don't know if this problem is new or if the pressure was just escaping from the old tank.

There is a pipe on top of the tank that i think is a breather pipe and it goes to a black plastic box just in front of the tank ( I don't know what the box is for )

My first thoughts were that the breather must be blocked but thinking about it, I would ecpect a vacuum to be created in the tank as fuel is drawn off, not a build up of pressure altough if the breather was not blocked then pressure would escape unless there is a one way valve in the black box that lets air in but not fumes out.

Or is the black box nothing to do with venting the tank. Is there a breather on the filler pipe somewhere.