Click to return to main site

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Jul 7th, 2024, 1:19pm

Balance: £11.65
Home Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Login Login
Ford Scorpio Forum« Autobox Problem »
   Ford Scorpio Forum
   General
   Problems
(Moderators: admin, Highlander, scorpio_man, Baz, Simmo)
   Autobox Problem
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1 2 3  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: Autobox Problem  (Read 6198 times)
pedro_pete

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile

Autobox Problem
« on: Mar 30th, 2010, 1:08pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

Hello everyone, my name is Pete. I hope you are all well.

I am new to this forum and I am sorry that my first post is a cry for help.
I have been the happy and relatively trouble-free,  owner of my (R) reg 24v Ultima Scorpio for four years now. However, having recently passed the 90,000 mile mark I have been experiencing Autobox problems.

The first sign of trouble was an occasional reluctance to engage reverse gear. Revs would rise and eventually it would thump into gear with a bit of a jolt, sometimes selecting reverse would cause the engine to cut out completely.  

This has since turned into a constant problem with both reverse and forward gears. Revs rise and then it eventually thumps into gear. This only occurs from cold start however, once up to running temparature the gearbox is as smooth as it ever has been.

From advice that I found on this website I checked the level and quality of the ATF. The level was just on the max and the oil when wiped on a white cloth appeared to be a pinky brown colour with no bits.

A mechanic friend, advised an oil and filter change. I purchased a filter kit from Ford Parts UK, including screen filter, gasket and o rings. My local Ford dealer advised me to use 3.5 litres of DP-M5 oil (it also had the numbers: 9U7J M2C919 AA on the bottles).