Click to return to main site

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Jul 8th, 2024, 11:18pm

Balance: £11.65
Home Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Login Login
Ford Scorpio Forum« Idle emissions varying up and down, failed MOT »
   Ford Scorpio Forum
   General
   Problems
(Moderators: admin, Highlander, scorpio_man, Baz, Simmo)
   Idle emissions varying up and down, failed MOT
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1 2  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: Idle emissions varying up and down, failed MOT  (Read 1509 times)
ambyuk

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile

Idle emissions varying up and down, failed MOT
« on: Jun 3rd, 2010, 11:18am »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

I've got a 1995 Scorpio Cosworth 2.9 24V. Just put it through it's first MOT since I bought it and it's failed on emissions. Garage has no idea what could be wrong with it really so I said I'd post on here.  

Firstly he did run it around so it was hot, and retested it, still failed. Then he put fuel additive in and it still failed again.  

What's happening is the emissions are up at about .8 or .9 % (not sure of the exact units but well into the 'red zone') then every few seconds they're dropping back into the green zone but not staying there long enough to pass. Sad So the garage who did the MOT reckons it could be a sensor, he said he doesn't think it's the cat(s) because assumably it would be constantly high? BUT he told me to ring Ford for advice and they say if it was a sensor the check engine light would be on, which it isn't.  

I really hope someone has some advice for me, if I can't get it to pass emissions I will have to scrap it and I desperately don't want to do that to my beauty. Sad
IP Logged
martin_rowe

I love YaBB 1G - SP1!

View Profile

Re: Idle emissions varying up and down, failed MOT
« Reply #1 on: Jun 3rd, 2010, 11:40am »