Click to return to main site

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Jul 20th, 2024, 12:13pm

Balance: £16.65
Home Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Login Login
Ford Scorpio Forum« Cold Idle Stall »
   Ford Scorpio Forum
   General
   Problems
(Moderators: admin, Highlander, scorpio_man, Baz, Simmo)
   Cold Idle Stall
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: Cold Idle Stall  (Read 1973 times)
skd

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile

Cold Idle Stall
« on: Oct 5th, 2010, 12:00am »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

Hi, I have DOHC 2.0 8v and live these days in rural Tasmania where there is not much local expertise with this "foreign" engine.

Sypmtoms: On cold start goes to 1500+rpm for 4-5 seconds, then drops to zero unless you intervene on the accelerator. When hot sometimes hangs at 1500-2000rpm before dropping to tickover at 800rpm. (Used to stall sometimes at this point but treatment to date has improved this aspect.) Pinks under load and seems underpowered. Mechanic says is running very lean.

Treatment so far: Thorough check for vacuum leaks. Replaced upstream NOX sensor. Replaced Engine Coolant Temp sensor (a drama as brass insert came out with old fitting). Clean the MAF. Tried a replacement MAF. Ran thorough fuel sytem cleaning treatment through. Inspected and cleaned Air Idle Valve.

Mechanic says fuel pressure is good. Wiring loom is in good condition.

Next step is to send computer to Melbourne for expensive testing/replacement.

I hope moderator permits this post as you are probably aware the Scorpio is rare if not non-existant in Australia. My vehicle is 1999 smiley face Transit Bus with 250,000km.
IP Logged
Mike H

Renault Clio

View Profile WWW Email

Re: Cold Idle Stall
« Reply #1 on: Oct 5th, 2010, 12:34am »