Click to return to main site

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Jul 20th, 2024, 12:17pm

Balance: £16.65
Home Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Login Login
Ford Scorpio Forum« jerky gear change (specially when cold) or low spe »
   Ford Scorpio Forum
   General
   Problems
(Moderators: admin, Highlander, scorpio_man, Baz, Simmo)
   jerky gear change (specially when cold) or low spe
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: jerky gear change (specially when cold) or low spe  (Read 1120 times)
zero

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile

jerky gear change (specially when cold) or low spe
« on: Oct 12th, 2010, 1:11pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

chaps

any ideas on this, my car a 1995 Scorpio ultima seems to have delveloped a jerk when changing gear or basically it sounds lumpy.

I had some problems with the Fuel shut off loom which I tried to resolve with some insulation tape, but it was so shot in the end I had to change it, we also found out the Idle valve was shot as well so this has been changed too  

the car now drives like a dream bar a clunky change, which if I back of just before it changes is no to bad, I don't bang the nuts of the car anyway and I don't drive it hard or accellerate hard anyway, and the box was fine before the loom needed changing (it was really bad)

the Car has done 86K i've just checked the oil in the box, it more a pinky brown than red, but it does smell like fluid, and more to the point it is smooth to the touch it doesn'y feel contaminated, but I presume chaning will be of benefit.

Any thought VSS broken, or just change the oil and see?

your thought are most welcome

Dave
IP Logged
Tompion
Administrator

1997 2.3 Ultima estate.

View Profile

Re: jerky gear change (specially when cold) or low
« Reply #1 on: Oct 12th, 2010, 2:23pm »

Have you cleaned the MAF?
http://www.fordscorpio.co.uk/cleanmaf.htm
IP Logged

ABS multiplug wheel sensor pins MK IV or MK 20