Click to return to main site

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Jul 19th, 2024, 6:22am

Balance: £16.65
Home Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Login Login
Ford Scorpio Forum« 2.9 12v - Problems starting & idling »
   Ford Scorpio Forum
   General
   Problems
(Moderators: admin, Highlander, scorpio_man, Baz, Simmo)
   2.9 12v - Problems starting & idling
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: 2.9 12v - Problems starting & idling  (Read 466 times)
TomP

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile

2.9 12v - Problems starting & idling
« on: Nov 17th, 2010, 1:35pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

Hi, I've read through a fair few posts and the problem solving section, but hope someone can give me some specific advice to my symptoms.  

For the past few weeks the car has been running fairly rough for the first 2 or 3 miles, even though no problems starting. After 2 or 3 miles engine seems to run fine. Last night tried to start the car and it wouldn't fire, although the engine turned fine. Also today, same problem. FYI, it's been very damp/cold over the last days and the rough running over the last few weeks does seem to co-incide with the change in weather.

I changed the plugs, distributor cap and rotor arm just over a year ago, so am assuming those shouldn't be the problem. Thinking about changing the HT leads next (only probably because it's the next simplest thing for me to do).

Has anyone got any advice or ideas what other things I should check, given my symptoms?

Many thanks in advance.
IP Logged
Matt

Manual'd and a 4.0 in the making

View Profile Email

Re: 2.9 12v - Problems starting & idling
« Reply #1 on: Nov 17th, 2010, 9:13pm »

An old 12v of mine had the same probs when it was damp weather, turned out 1 of the spark plugs had cracked on the insulator and was shorting untill the dampnesd dried out of it
IP Logged

FDS2000 Scans - Birmingham
Mike H

Renault Clio

View Profile WWW Email