Click to return to main site

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Jul 20th, 2024, 8:29am

Balance: £16.65
Home Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Login Login
Ford Scorpio Forum« reeks of petrol! »
   Ford Scorpio Forum
   General
   Problems
(Moderators: admin, Highlander, scorpio_man, Baz, Simmo)
   reeks of petrol!
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: reeks of petrol!  (Read 828 times)
ro284

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile Email

reeks of petrol!
« on: Nov 18th, 2010, 7:44pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

I only picked the car up yesterday, when i paid for it, good price! the guy said oh i forgot the wife reminded me that it stinks of petrol, and not to put more than £30 in, so i did,i had to to drive over 170 miles home, i know it's always a chance on ebay! but it reeked! (made me feel ill) i noticed that as the fuel level dropped the stink went away, what i cant understand is how the stink can be so strong inside the car! even with windows and roof open.any ideas please as to where to look? 97 24v estate,
thanks Bob
IP Logged

Bob Dorset
Scorpio_Mike

Jeep Grand Cherokee 3.0 V6 & 2.8 Sierra XR4i 4x4

View Profile

Re: reeks of petrol!
« Reply #1 on: Nov 18th, 2010, 8:38pm »

Most likely leaking from around the joint between the top and bottom halves of the fuel tank. Common problem. Only real cure is another tank. Not a difficult job to do but run the tank down to almost empty before taking it out - much lighter  Wink
Smell will be strong because of the fuel vapour from the leak.
IP Logged

Star sign is Scorpio !
Sierra XR4i's are great...especially when fitted with 4WD Smiley
Matt

Manual'd and a 4.0 in the making

View Profile Email

« Reply #2 on: Nov 18th, 2010, 8:40pm »

Sounds like the tank has a hole in it if you can only fill to a certain point, have you checked for any signs of leaking
IP Logged

FDS2000 Scans - Birmingham
ro284

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile Email