Click to return to main site

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Jul 6th, 2024, 7:23pm

Balance: £6.65
Home Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Login Login
Ford Scorpio Forum« Estate tailgate lock »
   Ford Scorpio Forum
   General
   Problems
(Moderators: admin, Highlander, scorpio_man, Baz, Simmo)
   Estate tailgate lock
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: Estate tailgate lock  (Read 1707 times)
magnetono59

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile

Estate tailgate lock
« on: Nov 28th, 2010, 4:43pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

I have a problem with my estate tailgate lock. When I open it with key or fob the central locking unit rattles. I removed the unit and opened it, looks OK. All help appreciated.
IP Logged
Cosray

8th Scorpio, 2nd Cosworth: currently '95

View Profile Email

Re: Estate tailgate lock
« Reply #1 on: Nov 28th, 2010, 6:52pm »

Hi, what do you mean "it looks OK?".
Had you seen one before?
Removing this unit is quite a job.
What made you do that?
What is "central locking unit "? and where exactly does it rattle?
Do you have a spare unit available for replacement? They are quite scarce.
Usually - after 12 years of service or more -  the reversing contacts inside are contaminated by oil, grease and metal grinds - is thatperhaps the case?  

Simmo, I remember we had an article + photos of a similar case on the forum. I searched in vain; perhaps you remember?

Curious,
Ray

IP Logged
magnetono59

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile

« Reply #2 on: Nov 29th, 2010, 1:39pm »