Click to return to main site

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Jul 8th, 2024, 9:27pm

Balance: £11.65
Home Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Login Login
Ford Scorpio Forum« UPDATE - Bizarre and weird starting problems - 24v »
   Ford Scorpio Forum
   General
   Problems
(Moderators: admin, Highlander, scorpio_man, Baz, Simmo)
   UPDATE - Bizarre and weird starting problems - 24v
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: UPDATE - Bizarre and weird starting problems - 24v  (Read 1513 times)
david_molloy

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile Email

UPDATE - Bizarre and weird starting problems - 24v
« on: Jan 19th, 2011, 10:28pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

Latest update.......... Also posted on mailing list

Following the advice received form both mailing list and 'problems' forum I began to systematically check various items last Saturday

When car in 'no starting mode' there was no spark. Battery disconnect restored it as car started OK.

Next item to check was crankshaft sensor and connector but as water still dripping off car put that on 'hold' and started checking wiring by ABS unit as suggested.

Found that power steering rubber pipe had just started to wear through loom black tape covering - about 2mm length of green wire just starting to show.
Checked with magnifying glass, but no sign of any visible wire.
Eased loom about 10mm so that I could tape wrap the effected area.

Car started OK but now I had.... both ABS and traction control lights on..... and TC switch on console had no effect extinguishing light.

I concluded that obviously the wiring loom was the source of problems.
Having been aware of loom problems from various site postings over the years, I've always avoided any unnecessary 'moving/flexing of wiring' since I've owned car apart from my initial securing of any loose & flapping wires after purchase.  

Started and stopped a couple of times but both lights still on.