Click to return to main site

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Jul 21st, 2024, 12:36am

Balance: £16.65
Home Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Login Login
Ford Scorpio Forum« Disappearing coolant. »
   Ford Scorpio Forum
   General
   Problems
(Moderators: admin, Highlander, scorpio_man, Baz, Simmo)
   Disappearing coolant.
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: Disappearing coolant.  (Read 2695 times)
The Rooster in the Scorpio.

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile

Disappearing coolant.
« on: Mar 25th, 2011, 1:04pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

Hi to you all out there. After covering approximately 250 miles my low coolant warning light illuminates. It then needs topping up and that is consistently a smidgen short of 1 litre.
There are no obvious signs of water loss,no blowing off from under the filler cap,no drips on the floor and no clear signs of hoses/connections leaking. The radiator is not showing any evidence of leaking either.
There is no evidence at the exhaust either,it is bone dry and only showing a modicum of blacking on the inside of the tail-pipe.
Has anyone had this situation themselves ?.
IP Logged

Big Fords with Big Lumps & an Automatic Transmission are for Easy Driving.
Life is often cut short,use it to the full each day.Eat well & healthy. It is a Ballgame of Numbers,keep yours in the air.
Highlander
Expert

13 Scorpios, XR4x4, Suzuki SJ413 for off road :)

View Profile Email

Re: Disappearing coolant.
« Reply #1 on: Mar 25th, 2011, 1:41pm »

Have a feel in the passenger side footwell, the heater matrix sometimes leaks from behind the dash, down the side of the gearbox tunnel under the carpet.

Sometimes the valve in the coolant cap sticks open and allows coolant to escape while driving.

Do you have the plastic undertray fitted? sometimes leaking coolant can sit in there until you move off