Click to return to main site

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Jul 20th, 2024, 12:31am

Balance: £16.65
Home Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Login Login
Ford Scorpio Forum« engine and auto box problems »
   Ford Scorpio Forum
   General
   Problems
(Moderators: admin, Highlander, scorpio_man, Baz, Simmo)
   engine and auto box problems
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1 2  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: engine and auto box problems  (Read 2876 times)
Andycan

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile

engine and auto box problems
« on: May 8th, 2011, 3:45pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

Hi again. Having just bought my scorpio 2.0 16 v I have concentrated on getting it through the test ( Wednesday) but today I checked all the oil levels and water levels as I was going out. She started up ok and had a nice tickover but didn't want to go into gear for about 10 seconds and then thumped in. Got to the end of the road and on pulling out the gears were seeming to slip until they thumped in again.
this kept happening for a few miles when the engine started to seem to loose power and it seemed to be firing on 2 or 3 cylinders for a mile or so. Could I have disturbed anything? Or any ideas what or why these things all happened at once?

Oh just another small thing the cruise control doesn't seem to be working at the moment but I can't find a fuse or relay for it so again any ideas?

Thanks Andy
IP Logged
leewar

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile Email

Re: engine and auto box problems
« Reply #1 on: May 8th, 2011, 6:06pm »

Andy, take out the gearbox dipstick and smell the fluid and check it's colour. If it smells burnt and is a dark brown colour, the fluid and filter will need changing as soon as possible or we are talking about a gearbox exchange. It should only take around two seconds for the gear to engage and not thump in.  Lee
IP Logged
Simmo
Administrator

I'm an OAP !

View Profile