Click to return to main site

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Jul 20th, 2024, 12:25am

Balance: £16.65
Home Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Login Login
Ford Scorpio Forum« Computer/revs problem. »
   Ford Scorpio Forum
   General
   Problems
(Moderators: admin, Highlander, scorpio_man, Baz, Simmo)
   Computer/revs problem.
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: Computer/revs problem.  (Read 773 times)
El_Nunnzio

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile

Computer/revs problem.
« on: Jul 6th, 2011, 12:51pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

Hello all, first time posting, but you may know of me through my dad (nunnspoet).  

I've heard many good things about your advice and help on this forum, so I hope you can help me.  

I was recently stuck in a traffic jam in my Ford Scorpio 2.9 12V automatic, on the motorway for over 2 hours, during which time the car started to get very hot, and problems begun.  

I noticed that the digital readout for the odometer had frozen, as well as the current trip distance and all other readouts from the computer apart from the outside temperature reading. In addition to this the speedo needle stopped working, having to rely upon the revs to judge speed  Cry .  

This brings me onto the final problem, the revs. When finally leaving the traffic jam, the car stalled, but started back up fine, however the revs kept dropping out as soon as I took my foot off the throttle, almost causing the car to stall a number of times. The car usually recovers by itself, stutters but continues driving, however it has caused the car to cut out at least 3 times.  
All of these issues combined to make the remainder of the journey, very interesting, but fortunately only had a short distance left to travel.  

My dad and I have run an OBD reader, but may have done this incorrectly and are still very unsure as to what the problems are!