Click to return to main site

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Jul 7th, 2024, 3:29am

Balance: £6.65
Home Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Login Login
Ford Scorpio Forum« Overheating »
   Ford Scorpio Forum
   General
   Problems
(Moderators: admin, Highlander, scorpio_man, Baz, Simmo)
   Overheating
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1 2  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: Overheating  (Read 4721 times)
Andycan

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile

Overheating
« on: Sep 12th, 2011, 4:29pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

Yesterday I drove 7 miles and my 2.0 scorpio started hissing water out of the header tank yet the gauge was on normal temp.   I filled it up when today and drove a couple of miles only to find after 100 yards the gauge was upto normal and at the end of the journey the temp was just under the red yet the rad fans didn't come on and the header tank wasn't hissing.

It could be a airlock where I filled it up but don't know where the bleed points are. Then we have the gauge and rad fans playing up.
IP Logged
Simmo
Administrator

I'm an OAP !

View Profile

Re: Overheating
« Reply #1 on: Sep 12th, 2011, 5:19pm »

The first thing to do is try the 'Jonnycab' method if you think an air lock is the problem.Details Here
Don't forget there are two temperature sensors. One for the gauge and another for the  engine management system.
IP Logged

Now I'm an OAP
PJDavis

2 x 1995 Jag X300 3.2 / 4.0 (Henley)   1957 XK140

View Profile Email

« Reply #2 on: Sep 12th, 2011, 5:21pm »

Aye.   I concur with Simmo.   I changed my thermostat last year and it took ages to get rid of all the air from the system, just when I thought I'd got rid of it all, another load of bubbles appeared.   Wink
IP Logged

I love 'Movvy'
1995 Jaguar XJ6 X300 3.2 (Henley)
1995 Jaguar XJ6 X330 4.0 (Dopey)
1957 Jaguar XK140 USA (converted to RHD, and to have fitted Mk10 420G Engine with BW 65 Auto Trans)
Simmo
Administrator

I'm an OAP !